A Decade Of Change

Published February 4, 2024 by Maryann
Me in Sydney, Australia circa February 2014

“Time is relative; it’s only worth depends upon what we do as it is passing” – Albert Einstein

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it” – Ferris Bueller

Hey Everyone,

Wow, it’s been a while since I updated this blog and I’m still amazed at how fast time flies by. A big welcome to all of you who are new here. I will be mostly reflecting on the major things that have happened over the past decade (still amazed that it’s been over 10 years since I started this blog). I also have some big news at the end of this post!

I started this website back in 2013 before embarking on my first traveling trip. My first stop was Australia and I actually landed in the land down under on February 5th, 2014. It feels like it was just yesterday that I landed in the Sydney airport starting one of the most important journeys of my life. But I truly had no idea the amount of changes that would occur since then. I’ve visited 12 countries in total to date and I’m definitely not done yet. There are many more countries that I want to explore, people I am destined to meet, and experiences I am meant to live.

I would like to reflect on some major accomplishments/challenges I’ve had in the past 10 years:

  1. Finished my master’s degree and became a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
  2. Traveled around the world on two long term trips. First trip was to Australia & New Zealand; Second trip was to New Zealand, France, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Belgium, The Netherlands, Thailand & Vietnam
  3. Worked in Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland
  4. Moved into my first apartment in 2019 and then my second apartment in 2021
  5. Lost and gained jobs
  6. Had my heart broken which lead to tremendous growth and realizations
  7. Leased and bought my current vehicle
  8. Shaved my head for children’s cancer research and donated my hair twice
  9. Finally met all 5 of the Backstreet Boys
  10. Got a chance to see some bands/artists in concert for the first time: Rod Stewart, Billy Joel, Blink-182, P!nk, Simple Plan/Sum 41/The Offspring and Mariah Carey

The amount of personal growth that I’ve experienced in the past 10 years is incredible. I know all of us are always changing but sometimes you forget just how far you’ve come. My life now feels so different and yet I also long for the freedom that I had back then. All the lessons and experiences have lead me to exactly where I am right now and I am grateful for all of it. I am proud of the person I have become and who I am still becoming.

Before I started traveling, I believed in the magic of synchronicities and going with the flow. I still strongly believe that we end up where we need to be and not necessarily where we want to be. Traveling will humble you when things unexpectedly go wrong but it will amaze you when things turn out better than you could have ever imagined. You learn a lot about yourself while on the road and you realize that you are the constant in every situation. The key to traveling is to do so with an open mind and an open heart.

Regarding the big news I alluded to in the beginning of this blog post…

I am going back to New Zealand for a month starting at the end of July and I am so excited!! This will be my third time visiting this amazing country and it’s definitely been too long. Last time I was there was in March of 2017. Actually the last time I went on an airplane was when I was flying home from Thailand in late October 2018. I’ll have a practice round of domestic traveling when I go to Florida in 2 weeks so that will be helpful. But yes, good things are on the way and I am super stoked about it!

More blog posts to come in the near future 🙂

Peace & Love

~Maryann

Leave a comment